Lolita Proofs Are Here

Nabokov_sam-1

The proofs of the article on Lolita that I wrote about here have arrived! This is good because it means the essay and the collection will soon be out, The Palgrave Handbook of Affect Studies and Textual CriticismOn the other hand, it is scary because of pronouncements like, “After you have finalized your proof, no further changes can be made.”

And there are problems. I am already leery because I know editing is a lost and disregarded art these days. It doesn’t help that they claimed a perfectly good sentence of mine about Humbert and Lolita journeying (so there’s your subject and verb) was incomplete, while missing at least five things that were wrong. And when I cited other parts of the collection I left question marks instead of page numbers because I was working from the document of the manuscript, not the set-up book. They left the question marks, in at least one case, which means I have to check all the cases and ask one of the editors (good thing he’s my husband) to give me page numbers from the proof of the manuscript. And one more thing: why can’t Word work out how to turn quotation marks and apostrophes the right way? This is fiendishly difficult to catch.

OK, end of rant. If you need me, I’ll be here, in front of my computer, for some time.

Photo credit: Alex Bakharev (assumed), Samizadat copies of en:Vladimir Nabokov’s works Colection [sic] of en:Nabokov House, 14 April 2006, Wikimedia Commons, PD.

Leave a Reply

