Malevolent Soap Acceptance

IMG_0760

I’m pleased to announce that my poem, “Out in the Code,” has been accepted for the first issue of Malevolent Soap, due out September 1st. I am especially happy and relieved because once again I tried something new in this poem. It is my only work structured as a sort of list, although, being a list by me, it goes off the rails pretty quickly. Also, I use mathematical symbols in it.

I am also excited to appear in an Australian publication for the first time. I was not at all sure “Out in the Code” would meet with the editors’ approval. Although it deals with disorientation caused by the passage of time and the pace of contemporary life and confronts fears, including the fear of death, it is on the whole a brief, playful piece. I was not sure it was hip enough for a journal that wants pieces to “explore . . .  intersections of ‘high’ and ‘low’ culture.” But apparently, yes it was.

I am honored to be included in what sounds like a very cool project. Can’t wait to see the first issue!

photo credit: Buildings at MIT. Taken by me. CC.

 

Leave a Reply

